4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

How do I data log?

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2009, 12:43 PM
jivepepper
3rd Gear Member

Default How do I data log?

How do I data log? I'm a complete newb at this. I have a Xcal 2 and a laptop with the software on it. I'm still getting a small intermittent hiccup at cruise in the lower RPM's.

I would like to datalog stuff like maf transfer and voltage, TPS voltage, front 02's, fuel pressure at cruise, FRPS, cam and crank sensors, and the coil packs.

I also have another question concerning a user parameter in the Xcal. It says I'm able to lower and raise the global spark it certain rpm ranges. I feel the hiccup might be helped with a little more timing in the 2-4k range due to my heads having no swirl damns and not burning the air fuel mixture well enough in part throttle cruising conditions. How will this effect my WOT tune?
Old 04-24-2009, 01:07 PM
mustangman281
Banned

Sounds like you are having the same problem I am. Between 2k and 3k rpms I have a lack of power and sounds like a miss. I get popping in the exhaust between shifts and during decel only between 2k-3k. I have data logged it and it looks like timing is dropping between or too low during those rpms. I have sent it to my tuner and he keeps trying to send me different tunes with more fuel and that only makes it worse. I think I'm about to go to a new tuner if mine can't figure it out by the end of the month.

But to data log just plug in the tuner, select data log, select the PIDs out want to monitor, save the set up, start the car, start the datalog. Then to view it plug in the tuner to your laptop, open livelink, select file then import ....(can't remember all of it) then lelect datalog0 and it will pop up.
Old 04-24-2009, 02:35 PM
jivepepper
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by mustangman281