oil pressure gauge install question. - MustangForums.com



4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2010, 04:48 PM   #1
My1stGT
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
My1stGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 350
Default oil pressure gauge install question.

i recently installed an autometer oil pressure gauge (mechanical). my question is will there be any effect on the computer by not having the stock gauge/wiring not hooked up? i know with water temp it needs to be hooked up but not sure with oil pressure. thanks
My1stGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:13 PM   #2
My1stGT
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
My1stGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 350
Default

anyone?
My1stGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:16 PM   #3
a_penquin
4th Gear Member
 
a_penquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

I think oil pressure only goes to the gauge. I teed mine off to run both sensors just in case. You can get the plumbing from your local hardware store.
a_penquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:21 PM   #4
0949er
4th Gear Member
 
0949er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,909
Default

hey I am about to install a mechanical gauge on my car... can one of you guys give me a run-down on how to do it please?
0949er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:31 PM   #5
a_penquin
4th Gear Member
 
a_penquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0949er View Post
hey I am about to install a mechanical gauge on my car... can one of you guys give me a run-down on how to do it please?
pm sent
a_penquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:46 PM   #6
My1stGT
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
My1stGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_penquin View Post
pm sent
beat me to but its not that bad
My1stGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 07:52 PM   #7
a_penquin
4th Gear Member
 
a_penquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by My1stGT View Post
beat me to but its not that bad
He still hasnt replied to my two questions 1: where is he mounting it and 2: dose he have a oil cooler (factory or aftermarket). I was going to give him routing advice, tap in location, light wiring and firewall penetrations.
a_penquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:22 PM   #8
My1stGT
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
My1stGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_penquin View Post
He still hasnt replied to my two questions 1: where is he mounting it and 2: dose he have a oil cooler (factory or aftermarket). I was going to give him routing advice, tap in location, light wiring and firewall penetrations.
i mounted mine on pillar, along with temp gauge. i tapped into defrost lights so i can also dim them. where did you tap into and wire from?
My1stGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:44 PM   #9
a_penquin
4th Gear Member
 
a_penquin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

Im running a 3 pillar with electric gauges but its all the same in the end. I tapped directly to the dimmer switch. I have a pics of the gauges and plumbing below.



a_penquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:36 PM   #10
0949er
4th Gear Member
 
0949er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,909
Default

a_penguin, thanks for all ur help BTW.

My1stGT, has your car triggered any CEL light of any kind?

From what I can find, you might trigger one of these three ODBII errors:

P0196 - Engine Oil Temperature (EOT) Sensor Circuit Range/Performance
P0197 - Engine Oil Temperature (EOT) Sensor Circuit Low Input
P0198 - Engine Oil Temperature (EOT) Sensor Circuit High Input


Those three have to do with the EOT calculating your oil temp. I'm assuming that it will throw an error after it realizes that it cant get a temperature.

*edit*
This one might also be possible:
P0298 - Engine Oil Over Temperature Condition (because the EOT sensor doesn't exist). This one will retard your motor so It cant run at high speeds. (because it thinks your engine/oil is too hot)

Last edited by 0949er; 05-03-2010 at 09:43 PM.
0949er is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Death Trap" my new 84 GT build thread 67LimeCoupe 5.0L General Discussion 45 11-25-2015 09:55 PM
What's considered normal oil pressure? yurizx6r 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 49 09-07-2015 07:40 PM
voltage problem? or is it? toastintx64 Classic Mustangs (Tech) 1 08-29-2015 06:12 PM
Alternator problem? jjwinel78 V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 1 08-17-2015 04:34 PM
Oil pressure freak out yurizx6r 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 14 08-11-2015 08:50 AM


Tags
06, 46, cobra, ford, gauge, gt, instal, install, modular, mustang, oil, pressure, temp, unit, water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.