4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

help me choose a super charger

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2011, 10:45 PM
MOTORCITYPONY

Default help me choose a super charger

Hey guys im planing on getting a procharger kit for my 03 gt vert
with 410 gears and a 3000 stall i can get there basic kit for 4220.00,and now with the new vortech v3 out i gotta put them back into the mix,can some owners here shine some light on the pros and cons of ea,i hear procharger has bad service if you ever have a problem i hear people crying about vortech and tapping the pan just looking for some opinions on somthing im just learning about.

THANKS IN ADVANCE

PONY

NEW HERE SEEMS LIKE ONE OF THE BETTER BOARDS I HAVE FOUND
Old 04-26-2011, 11:01 PM
Endrance
1st Gear Member

Was reading with the v3 you don't have to tap the pan though
Old 04-27-2011, 05:38 AM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

I'm a big fan of procharger along with a few of my friends locally, I don't know anyone thats ever had a procharger service problem they seem very helpful. My friend has the same procharger I have on his fox and the blower has 115k and never even needed repairs.
Old 04-27-2011, 07:24 AM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

OP i'm not sure where you're at in MI, but call Lidio at Alternative Auto. He's one of the most respected tuners in the country when it comes to Mustangs, and he'll give you his honest real world experience and opinions between Procharger and Vortech.

BTW, the Vortech V-3 is a self contained unit. No tapping the oil pan.
Old 04-27-2011, 08:22 AM
Rockwell28
4th Gear Member

only negative Ive heard about prochargers are head unit oil leaks. There a are quite a few ppl on a different forum thathas talked about that when comparing centri's
Old 04-27-2011, 08:44 AM
Soldier GT
6th Gear Member