4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Thoughts on these mods?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2016, 09:56 PM
school boy
5th Gear Member

Since these two are muddying up this thread with half truths and opinions, I'm going to jump in. If Cliffy was here, he could explain better but ill do my best.

After market tb/plenum.
First off, get both (the same size) and not just the throttle body. The bigger tb vs the stock plenum will cause turbulence and that's bad m-kay.

A tb/plenum set up will net you almost zero hp AT peak hp. The gains we are talking about are "under the curve." I'm not 100% sure since its been a while since I studied up on the subject, but less than 5-10 hp. Its more at throttle tip in than anywhere. I believe this is due to upper plenum volume and the amount off air the tb can let in at tip in. As rpm's increase, so will hp gain. So at hp peak, the velocity is more in play and why the gains are zero since the stock tb can supply a mild 4.6 enough.

Intake Manifold
The stock pi manifold IS THE BEST for a stock/mild 4.6. They don't heat soak and Ford did a dang good job on these. DO NOT BUY THE DORMAN VERSION! They screwed the pooch on that one some some reason. Only buy Ford.
I don't know much on the Hardballer, but the Proffesional Products aluminum manifold is a cheap copy of the stock pi manifold. On almost every pp manifold test I have seen, it lost hp, even before bad heat soak. The up side is they wont bust and can be ported, which is the only way to gain hp in any part of the rpm range. The casting on these are garbage and I woulnt own one personally. Ported they can benefit a warmed over 4.6 (big cams/power adder).
Eddy Manifold