Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

GT Upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 12:53 PM
Jay Man

Default GT Upgrades

Hey all,

I am new to Mustangs and I just got an 06 GT 4.6L. I have had it for about a month now and I was wanting to do some upgrades. One thing I was thinking about was upgrading it to a Roush, if that is even possible. Or maybe look at just doing some generic upgrades. It already has pipes on it, not sure which I think they may be straight. So I was just wondering what if any upgrades I should look at doing. You can see the car it is in my New from BA, OK post. Any input is much appreciated.

Thanks
-J
Old 10-01-2013, 01:03 PM
CPTCO
5th Gear Member

There's lots of things you can do. Most people will tell you CAI and tune. Then maybe 4:10 gears. Suspension, suspension, and more suspension. You can go hole hog and just slap a supercharger on it right now. It really depends on your budget. But those are some places to start.
Old 10-01-2013, 01:38 PM
Diabolical!
5th Gear Member

Copy my sig. Make it your mod list.
Old 10-01-2013, 03:04 PM
Jay Man

Thanks for the replies. The only mod the guy before me did was remove the cats and did straight pipes. He said basically it is an H pipe with no cats. So that is all that has been done to the car. I want to do a little more and have been looking at American Muscle and pricing a wish list. So for Christmas and my B-day I will be buying a few parts here and there to upgrade and change the interior and exterior. Also looked at their Acceleration pack for the 06 GT I was looking at picking up the gears and the clutch.

I don't know a whole lot about cars or what brands are good/best. But I do know that it is all budget, and I have learned the hard way you pay for what you get. So if I have to take a while and save then that is what I am going to do.

Thanks again
-J
Old 10-01-2013, 06:41 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member