5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

New to the 5.0 perf. world.....Looking to build some power

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2008, 08:32 PM
LackOfTraction

Default New to the 5.0 perf. world.....Looking to build some power

How's everyone doing?
Well I'm new to the Ford 5.0, this is my first.
I just bought a wrecked 88 mustang for the engine and trans.
It's a stock 5.0 with a ford motorsport flywheel and clutch combo, balanced crankshaft, edelbrock performer 289 intake manifold with holley double pumper 750, holley mechanical fuel pump, BBK short tube(unequal) headers. It has a mild street cam but I don't know what kind and the owner couldn't find the receipt for it.
The car was driveable but had a damaged frame so I drove it while it was all together.
It had a 3.73 rear end with Toms kick *** axles and some M/T drag radials.
The thing was FAST, the carb was tuned incredibly and VERY responsive. The trans is a Borg T-5, rebuilt by some mustang race shop(the name leaves me at the moment).

So I pulled out the motor and trans and I'm going to put it into another car.
It still has stock heads. I want to make a bit more power on this thing.
I don't need a ridiculous amount of power since it's going into a very light chassis(1500lbs) but I was thinking of at least better heads.
I want to keep it as streetable as possible, that is I don't really need it to have a wild lobing idle or bleeding rich of fuel. I don't want it to be to much of a machine to drive.
I don't want to touch the block, at least not yet on my budget, so I'm not looking to bore or stroke it yet either.

I could really use some of the knowledge that you 5.0 veterans have on this forum.
So any ideas???
Old 02-29-2008, 08:36 PM
H0SS302
6th Gear Member

Default RE: New to the 5.0 perf. world.....Looking to build some power