5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

spark plug reading

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2008, 09:26 PM
91ford302
2nd Gear Member

Default spark plug reading

Ok, i changed my spark plugs today, and they were all white. From what i understand this means my car is lean and/or overheating. I cannot understand why a computer controlled fuel system should run lean, but im not an expert. I have shorty headers and a catless exhaust, which i have heard can make a car run lean, but the 02 sensors are still connected... I am also running an E303 cam and everything else is stock on the engine. I also have seen the engine temp gauge climb a little high sometimes and cannot figure out why. I have replaced the thermostat and radiator cap and still the gauge climbs high. its hard to tell if its overheating, caus it doesnt peg the gauge, and there are no numbers where it sits, so i dunno what temps its reaching...

I have a bad feeling i might have a leaky head gasket, but the plugs were not wet and my exhaust does not smell like coolant. I am also running the stock clutch fan. Are they horrible at cooling the engine? should i put in a flex-a-lite style engine fan or go straight to an electric?

Any help/suggenstions on my problems is appreciated, I just want my car to run well and dont want to blow it up or anything because of a stupid mistake.
Old 04-05-2008, 09:40 PM
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports

Default RE: spark plug reading

What plugs did you put in it? The clutch fan works just fine. I have one on mine and don't have a shroud at the moment and don't have any overheating issues. Try change the fuel filter.
Old 04-05-2008, 09:44 PM
91ford302
2nd Gear Member