5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Blew my left knee - converting 5 speed stick to automatic?

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 06:11 PM
Satori 5.0

Default Blew my left knee - converting 5 speed stick to automatic?

The car in question is a trip black '95 GT Mustang Convertable, with the original Tremic T-5 manual transmission. I love my car for the obvious reasons but just recently blew my left knee out rather badly and probably won't be able to drive stickshift for, say, the rest of my life. The car is in absolutely beautiful condition and I absolutely dont want to trade it in, so I was trying to get some information about converting it to an automatic transmission. If its possible, about how much it would cost, what would be a good matchup etc. I am a mechanical engineer by trade but am fairly lacking in direct experience, space and tools at the current moment so it is more likely that I would have to pay a shop to do the work. This is of course 1 year after I dropped $2000 on a full tranny rebuild, new clutch etc. Isnt life great. Anyhow, any help or advice on the subject would be most appreciated.
Old 07-07-2008, 06:19 PM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Blew my left knee - converting 5 speed stick to automatic?

blowing your knee out doens't keep you from driving a stick as long as you are out of the cast. I had my right acl reconstructed after a rugby injury and I think it is better then my other knee, I jokingly refer to them as my bad knee and my worse knee.

Stay off of it for a week or two and get a couple of rides and you will be ok. It sucks at first but it does get better.
Old 07-07-2008, 06:56 PM
redpony88
4th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: ttocs