5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

I Think I've Burned Up My Clutch

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2008, 08:40 AM
Sippix
1st Gear Member

Unhappy I Think I've Burned Up My Clutch

It's a long read, so please bear with me...

Alright, here's the deal. I'm a total newbie when it comes to Mustangs, and especially driving a standard. I've never even been behind the wheel of a standard until I bought my Mustang a few weeks ago. It's a '94 Mustang GT with everything stock except bolt-on I/E mods. So the tranny, clutch and shifter are all stock - Not original to the car (so says the guy that sold it to me), but they ARE stock components. He said the clutch only has about 30k miles on it. Well, I have no freakin' clue if that's a lot for a stock-type clutch, or if I am in need of a driver mod. I bought my Mustang a few weeks ago, but I had to settle some out-of-state tickets to get my license unsuspeneded. My insurance wouldn't let me cover the car unless I did, and I can't get Regi./Insp. stickers unless I provide proof of insurance. Well, this all took a while, so I never actually got to give her road time until this last thursday (12/18/08).

So, here's what happened...