5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

88gt smoke coming from under upper intake

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2009, 05:49 PM
j-wigg
2nd Gear Member

Default 88gt smoke coming from under upper intake

being a rookie, i'm sure i've made a big rookie &*%$ up. in a different thread i was asking about intake bolt sizes to put a spacer in. long story short, i broke a bolt in the lower intake that i was not able to get out so i had to re-tap the hole to 3/8's from 5/16th's. which in turn, had to make the hole on the upper intake larger to accomd. it drove fine last night but today, i'm noticing smoke coming from under the upper intake. car drives fine. the smoke seems to be only coming out when the car is running and is intermittent (not constant, goes and stops every few seconds). does not change when the throttle is open wider. there was oils and wd40 that was used when trying to get the bolt out of the lower intake. which i'm hoping thats all it is. did i royally *&^% up or could this just be some stuff burning off. i cannot see the source exacltly, just looks like its coming under the upper intake.
Old 03-08-2009, 06:00 PM
j-wigg
2nd Gear Member