Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

Need Some Help!! Bought a 67 coupe V8! Where do i start?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2010, 07:43 AM
IvanTellez1

Default Need Some Help!! Bought a 67 coupe V8! Where do i start?

Hey guys i need some help i just got a 67 coupe V8
needs paint and tires and a radio
brand new carburetor and the heads have recently been cleaned

Where Do I start? thanks you for your time

Last edited by IvanTellez1; 01-01-2010 at 07:52 AM.
Old 01-01-2010, 02:07 PM
THUMPIN455
5th Gear Member

What do you want from it, what shape is it in now, what is your budget, and what automotive skills do you have now?

You could do like I do.
When I buy a car its usually old. If it runs and I plan to use it as a driver I go through the brakes and check the suspension. I replace or rebuild whatever needs it, engines transmissions, brakes, etc. Then I fix whatever is broken inside, make sure the wipers, lights, and other safety stuff functions. Then after its a decent reliable driver, I start doing modifications if that is the intent for it. In this case paint and body work is the last thing I do. You end up with a driver that has some cosmetic issues for a while, but you can drive it and enjoy it while you do the work and learn new things. This is the least expensive option.