Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

Lost All Of My Pictures

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2011, 10:19 AM
Gregski
3rd Gear Member

Default Lost All Of My Pictures

Man I am so disappointed. Those that read my posts may remember I'm the guy who did the Welding Practice, Mud Dog Engine, and the Rusted Roof posts for my junky 1968 Coupe, usually posting a ton of shots of the work.

Well I tried to hook up an old hard drive that crashed on me a while ago back to my computer to copy some old family photos off of it, and that piece of $%!& confused my computer to the point that it would not see any of the pictures on my second drive.

What makes it worse is that I'm a computer guy by trade, and I had this set up pretty bullet proof.

C: drive was my system hard drive with all of my programs

D: drive was a separate physical hard drive with all of my data, documents, pictures, taxes, etc

then I hooked up this third drive with one of them universal external adapter cables (like I've done a dozen times before on other systems) NOT thinking it would destroy the D: above

Now I just want to put my head down and wrench and NOT take another picture ever again, PLEASE say something to make me feel better, what a start to a new year!

Gregski
Old 01-09-2011, 10:53 AM
mr_velocity
4th Gear Member

Destroy the drive? Usually everything can be recovered. I use those external adapters all the time to recover drives especially when a virus hits. Usually with a hard drive dock you can recover.

All I can say I hope you recover and BlueRay is your friend. I back up everything even though I run RAID 6 on my storage server.

If you give me a few more details I can run this past my IT guys.

I use on of these all the time

Last edited by mr_velocity; 01-09-2011 at 11:33 AM.
Old 01-09-2011, 10:55 AM
Gun Jam

You ran your crappy internal drive on USB adapter and now your computer wont recognize your D drive? Is that what you are saying?