Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Plans for a Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2005, 07:01 AM
YourBrainIsGod

Default Plans for a Mustang

I don't have a Mustang yet, but I'm searching around for a 69 Mustang Project Car. I'm only looking for a coupe so I shouldn't have too much trouble. I was planning on building a 429 SCJ to put in it. I'm not an expert on cars (I'm still learning), but my dad knows just about all there is to know. I was also going to upgrade the suspension. Just looking for some things that people would recommend looking into.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-11-2005, 07:22 AM
65_2plus2
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Plans for a Mustang

The first questions that needs to be answered are, what is your intended use for this Mustang. Drag racing? Street cruising? Car shows? And why a 429 SJC?

One you answer these questions, then our (the members of this Forum) answers and comments will be better suited for your car.
[sm=smiley20.gif]
Old 01-11-2005, 07:52 AM
YourBrainIsGod

ORIGINAL: 65_2plus2

The first questions that needs to be answered are, what is your intended use for this Mustang. Drag racing? Street cruising? Car shows? And why a 429 SJC?

One you answer these questions, then our (the members of this Forum) answers and comments will be better suited for your car.
[sm=smiley20.gif]
My plans are for it to be a daily driver with awesome power. And I chose the 429 SCJ because there are tons of 429/460 blocks in my dads garage, and that was my first conclusion of what I would want to put in there. I am open to any other suggestions as well.
Old 01-11-2005, 05:30 PM
tornado
1st Gear Member

well if u have a 429 engine just laying around then u should but that in
Old 01-12-2005, 04:03 PM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer

If you put in a big block engine, then be prepared to upgrade the front suspension prior to putting in that heavy engine.
Old 01-12-2005, 04:10 PM
tornado
1st Gear Member

thats true