Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

SERIOUS QUESTION: Turn down the volume on Exhaust (hearing loss?)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2007, 11:27 AM
ldollar
I ♥ Acer

Default SERIOUS QUESTION: Turn down the volume on Exhaust (hearing loss?)

Okay so here is the deal. My car sounds really good to most people. Including myself. It is loud, throaty and probably drives my neighbors up the wall. I have a Flowmaster American Thunder dual exhaust system, with no tailpipes. The problem is this: I have a baby that rides in the back seat of the car regularly. Not daily, but almost.

I am concerned about damaging her hearing.

I bought a noise level meter (yeah, lame I know...) at Radio Shack and measured the decibel levels while driving. In driving around town, the range was from 78-80 dB at idle and 85 at low rpms (around 1200-2000) while a few peaks of 88 (heavy acceleration and about 900-1200 rpms).

According to info I read online, decibel levels above 85 are in the "dangerous" range. Personally I already suffer from a hereditary minor hearing loss so I should be concerned about doing further damage to my own hearing. But my real concern lies with my daughter who has been fortunate enough to have very good hearing. She is less than 2 years old and I do not want to be responsible for any hearing damage in her young ears.

I know a lot of guys are trying to make their cars louder and I wish I could leave things as they are. And I dont want to drastically change the sound of my ride but is there any little things I can do to make my car just a *little* quieter and bring those dB levels out of the danger zone? Hopefully I dont have to install a new exhaust system and I am afraid any tail pipes I add would make the noise levels higher. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks for your help on this, all of you. Have a great weekend!
-Luke
Old 08-31-2007, 11:36 AM
dodgestang
5th Gear Member