Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Restoration question

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 11:17 PM
Rennier

Default Restoration question

hello everyone. I am new to the whole car deal. I am a medical student so i haven't had much experience in car related subjects. I would like to buy a muscle car, more specifically a corvette ( 1968-1982). I would like to use it as a daily driver. Many of the ones i have seen have had their engine as well as other parts restored. What does this mean exactly. That the engine is like new? new? once restored how reliable is it as a daily driver? if not restored then what would be the approximate cost to do so?...thank guys any help would be appreciated..
Old 12-12-2007, 11:55 PM
gooser
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Restoration question

1. your car will be at least 25 years old. cars wear out. parts that wear out can be replaced. that's the skinny of it. an older car can be as reliable as a new car but will require a great deal more maintenance. a rebuilt engine (if done properly) will have all worn pieces either replaced or re-machined. but that's only a small part of it. what leaves these old cars by the side of the road are usually bad wiring or connectors, leaking brake parts, leaky hoses or radiators and a ton of other things. engines themselves rarely "break" without warning.

2. a corvette wasn't really a very practical car when it was new. (no storage). you should be able to eliminate MOST rust problems however.

3. does a medical student have the time to research and learn how to maintain one of these cars? if not then you will have to find a reliable mechanic to do "check ups" from time to time.