Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

4.7 V8 289 Start problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 09:22 PM
Se4mus1
2nd Gear Member

Default 4.7 V8 289 Start problem

hey everyone,
I am new at thhis so bear with me. I recently inherited a 1966 289 convertable and it was goin pretty good. However, about a month ago it stalled out with no warning, so i thaought it was the alternator. I baought a new one plus a voltage regulator and installed them. it wouldnt start on its own so i tried jumping it which didnt work either. i figured it was the starter stolenoid so i bridged the two ends to gether with a wrench and it fired up. After this I purchased a new one and installed it, thinking it was the starter. I tried starting it again but there is no power going through it at all, not even the auxilary, nothing. The only time i can get power running through it is if there is an outsource of power, such as a battery charger or boost cables. Even when its hooked up however, when you turn rhe key and try to start it i get this weird buzzing sound like a teansformer blowing or something. Im new at this whole car thing so i dont know much, i figured the best way to learn is trial and error, but i hear how deliquite these cars are so i dont want to skrew it up. any help is much appericiated. Thanks.
Old 04-08-2008, 03:47 PM
jlg2002
4th Gear Member

Default RE: 4.7 V8 289 Start problem

If it clicks/buzzes when starting its because of low voltage. With this said, the following is what you should look at:
1. Are the cables clean and tight at both ends, fix this first if not.
2. Take the battery to a shop and get it tested/charged. If this all fails, change the pos cable first then the neg cable then the starter to relay cable.