Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Classic Restoration

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2005, 05:56 PM
NCMustangMan
2nd Gear Member

Default Classic Restoration

I am new to the Mustang ownership family thanks to my 2005 my wife recently bought me for my 50th birthday. I must admit I have 'Mustang-itus" something awful. I have an opportunity to purchase a 1966 Fastback GT as a restoration project from a local reputable gentleman for a reasonable price. It is green in color, has the 289 four barrell engine and pony interior. It is completely broken down into pieces. My question for your forum is a two parter: #1: is this a good choice for your first Mustang restoration experience? #2: Would I be better off looking for another year or style to spend my time and money on to restore? Any advice you may offer will be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.
Old 06-09-2005, 06:11 PM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: Classic Restoration

When you say it is completely broken down in pieces, what are you saying? Explain further.
Old 06-09-2005, 06:22 PM
NCMustangMan
2nd Gear Member

The guy who has it broke it, down into a rolling chassis, body, engine and tranny, two doors, hood, trunk, etc. to verify it was a geniune GT. He has it in his shop. He restores and works on 1964.5 to 1969 Mustangs for a living. He bought it to restore for a lady who could not come up with the money. He wants to sell it to me "as is". He has several in process right now and needs the floor space. I would need a large flatbed to get it home and start the process. Is this enough information Soaring? Thank you in advance for your help.
Old 06-09-2005, 08:11 PM
6mustang6
5th Gear Member