Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Rear Drum Rework Checklist -- Leave anything out?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2009, 05:47 PM
lunarweasel
4th Gear Member

Default Rear Drum Rework Checklist -- Leave anything out?

Hey guys,

I will be doing the CSRP KH disc kit in about two months. I want to go through the drums out back while I am at it. As you regulars know, I am a rookie at this. I will be fine doing this, but I just have to make sure I have as many parts as possible ahead of time. (It's a rural area and a trip to an Autozone-type place takes an hour round trip.)

-Deluxe hardware kit from NPD for the rear drums. Looks pretty comprehensive for the various springs cables and stuff. "springs, pins, washers, top and bottom caps, self adjusting cable, lever, and guide adjusters". $32

-New shoes -- $24 x 2

-New wheel cylinders -- $19 x 2

---------

That's my list so far. Everything is original back there, so 45 years old. There are flexible hoses listed in NPD for the rear, would you replace them too?

Can you think of anything else?
Old 02-14-2009, 06:02 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

You only need to buy one set of shoes But yes, I'd replace the rear brake hose while you've got everything torn apart.

Also, keep an eye out for axle grease. If the axle seals need to be replaced, now's the time to do it.
Old 02-14-2009, 07:03 PM
Joe67
Banned

+1 for hoses, and...

why are wheel cylinders 20 bucks?
at my local autozone they are $7
Old 02-14-2009, 07:24 PM
lunarweasel
4th Gear Member

I think the parts houses count on people just wanting to order all the parts from one place. I was going to price those at NAPA anyway. Thanks for the heads up though.

Starfury,

The NPD catalog just says "shoe", so I assumed it was not both sides of the car, and I would need two. I'll look into that later. I will price that at NAPA too. Thanks.
Old 02-14-2009, 07:25 PM
lunarweasel
4th Gear Member