Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

engine/trans change for 69

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 03:01 PM
EnderWiggin

Default engine/trans change for 69

I'm a complete newbie to the forum and to mustangs in general. I know a bit about cars, but not enough to do an engine and tranny swap with confidence. I'm a soldier currently stationed in Afghanistan and one of my buddies in the platoon told me his old man was selling a 1969 hardtop, 250ci I6 w/ 3spd manual. He said it was straight and clean, had electronic ignition and power disc brakes up front, new points, manifold and 15" aluminums to accomodate the brakes. One spot of rust (about a nickel's worth near the rear tail light) and a bit of bondo on the front end of the passenger door. No A/C. They sent me some pictures and I made an offer of $4000 which they took because I'm a soldier and all that. I think I got a deal, but I could be wrong about that. Point is, I could afford it and I wanted it.

I want to drop a 390ci V8 into it and I read somewhere the 69 had the front end to handle it, but I should need new springs. What about the read end? I'd also like to upgrade the transmission too, but I thought I'd get people's opinions on this before I started ordering parts so that they'll be waiting for me when I get home in a few months.

I know this has probably been talked about before and if thats the case, please send me a link to the thread. Otherwise, all input will be appreciated.
Old 02-17-2009, 03:14 PM
Waffles
5th Gear Member

Post your photos of the car, we'll help you decide if it was a good purchase. Swapping out engines and transmissions isn't rocket science, and a 390 (or better yet, a 390 with 428 heads) is a good choice.