Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Won't Roll Backward in Neutral (Rolls Forward)

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2009, 10:15 PM
Todd-67

Question Won't Roll Backward in Neutral (Rolls Forward)

I have a 1967 Inline 6 Automatic. I've started to do some restoration. I didn't run into this problem until I drained the transmission fluid. After the drain was finished, the car would roll forward, but I can't get it to roll backward. I've jacked the back end of the car up, to back it up when needed. When I have it in the air, if I rotate one of the rear wheels backward, the other rear wheel will rotate in the opposite direction.

I'm not an expert, and this is my first resto. Any ideas or help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Todd
Old 04-20-2009, 12:14 AM
dcohen
4th Gear Member

the reason the wheels turn in the opposite direction is because of the differential

as for the rolling forward and not backward, have you tried filling the tranny back up with fluid and running the car?

if it is just a matter of needing to move the car around then you could always just pull the driveshaft out for the time being
Old 04-20-2009, 06:13 AM
kalli
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Todd-67
, if I rotate one of the rear wheels backward, the other rear wheel will rotate in the opposite direction.
Todd
this is perfectly normal for open rear end. not to worry
check out this page (nice graphics):
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential2.htm
if you look at those graphics and imagine turning one wheel while holding the pinion static, then you'll understand why the otehr wheel turned the opposite way. has nothing to do with your forward/backward problem
Old 04-20-2009, 08:40 AM
JHPSTANG
2nd Gear Member

That graphic is amazing. I just learned!!!!
Old 04-20-2009, 06:05 PM
Todd-67

Wink

[QUOTE=as for the rolling forward and not backward, have you tried filling the tranny back up with fluid and running the car?