Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

66 mustang drum to disc brake conversion

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2009, 05:18 PM
nma_re

Default 66 mustang drum to disc brake conversion

I'm about to convert my old braking system on my 1966 mustang with automatic transmission. I'm just looking for any heads up advice on doing this particular brake project.(shortcuts, certain tools that could make job easier, other disc brake systems that will match with slight modifications) I'm a newbie but I have alot of time and patience. Are there any websites that someone can direct me too that carry detailed pics and instructions. This car will be a daily driver so no need for high performance parts. Where can I buy a good quality conversion kit? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 07-07-2009, 05:23 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

I'd recommend the OE-style KH disc brake setup from CSRP. I bought this kit for my '67 and I'm very happy with it. Everything is bolt-on, you don't have to replace the spindles, and when you get parts in the future, you simply go to the parts store and ask for parts for your year car, not a 1970odd Granada. Customer service is great, the kit is very affordable (compared to SSBC and Wilwood), and quality is good as well. There's even a power boost option, although it's not absolutely needed, IMO. I run the manual setup on my daily driver and I'm perfectly happy with it.

If you've got larger (17"+) wheels and want the most stopping power possible, you may also consider Mustang Steve's late model Cobra disk brake swap.
Old 07-07-2009, 05:58 PM
Deviousfred
3rd Gear Member

+1 on the CSRP kit. I myslef will be ordering this kit as soon as I gather the money.
Old 07-07-2009, 09:49 PM
degins
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Starfury