Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

HELP! New to me '66 Stang - Brake lights/alignment issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2014, 01:52 AM
nc98405

Exclamation HELP! New to me '66 Stang - Brake lights/alignment issues

So I just purchased a 1966 Mustang... I am hoping I made a good purchase, but I guess that is to be determined! I have so many questions, but I think I will start with some of the more pressing ones... I could really use the help as I am a complete novice at this, and hoping to get my hands dirty.

So some details: The car came with a set of '98 Cobra wheels.. I believe they are 18 inches. They are pretty big and it gives the car pretty neat look when it is sitting there parked. Also at mild speeds the ride is not too bad. But the previous owner told me he thinks the wheels are too big, and on the freeway at faster speeds it'll pull in every which way <--- he was right. The steering wheel is always pulling and if it hits any bumps than the steering wheel jerks to each side pretty hard.. I mean it was making me pretty nervous just being on the freeway! It made me nervous but he seemed to have just lived with it that way. My immediate reaction is to think that it is not the wheels.. but instead the alignment is off... one thing that I noticed is that when I am making a gradual turn towards the right the car rides real smooth.. Any thoughts?? advice?? -would any good tire shop be able to check on that?

ALSO... and maybe this is more important because as of right now I won't drive her around too far... but the brake lights are not working. When I turn on the lights, the back ones come alive, but there's no change when I am braking.. the turn signals work just fine.. just no brake lights.. I purchased one of the 'fix-it' guides and am going to continue to do some research.. but maybe there is someone out there smarter than I who can point me in the right direction!!