Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > General Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by NewTakeOff


Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2007, 10:31 PM   #1
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

I just got a used 2001 GT convertible with the Mach 460 stereo system and 6-disc in-dash cd changer. The display says CD Error and Slots Full (or something like that). I don't think there is anything in it but the door opens/closes and I hear motor whirring but then it just says CD Error. Any suggestions (aside from replacing it)?

TIA
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 03:21 AM   #2
MustangMike2001
4th Gear Member
 
MustangMike2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Mustang V6
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,161
http://www.facebook.com/yourmomzboyfriend
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

This isa real common problem. I used to be able to get mine going again after a "cd error" by pulling the fuse to reset it but eventually nothing would get it working again. The in dash changers are junk. It will have to be replaced.
__________________
MustangMike2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:53 AM   #3
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

What are my alternatives for replacing it? Would I just be throwing money away by getting it fixed or replacing it with the same type of model? If I went with aftermarket, does anything look "stock" in there...I just prefer the stock look.

Thanks for the help
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 09:36 AM   #4
GreyStang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,062
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Sounds like there is a CD stuck in the changer. I had that happen once, and was able to get it out by just pushing the eject button over & over again. Some have suggested to use another CD (one you don't care about lol) insert it & eject, & that can help clear the clog.

My CD changer has otherwise worked great & I like it pretty good for a factory head unit. Most of the time I hear people have problems is when they play CD-r's they created themselves. Cheap brand blank CD-R's are slightly"thicker" than a regular CD, not much but just enough to jam in some players. In that case it isn't the players fault.
__________________


2002 GT convertible
1999 Yamaha 1100 Virago
GreyStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 09:37 AM   #5
MustangMike2001
4th Gear Member
 
MustangMike2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Mustang V6
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,161
http://www.facebook.com/yourmomzboyfriend
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

You might be able to replace it with another stock Ford unit. I don't know if any of their other models are decent or not or if they will plug right up. All I know is my changerwas crapped out when I bought my car too and I see about a post a day from a new person asking why their changer isn't working..
__________________
MustangMike2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 10:27 AM   #6
Black_GT_02
4th Gear Member
 
Black_GT_02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 2002 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Purdue/NW Ohio
Posts: 1,041
Send a message via AIM to Black_GT_02
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

i use a credit card and lift up/down the cd stuck in there. it will come out.
__________________
Mods: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3023059
Black_GT_02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:18 PM   #7
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Thanks for the replies. I do not see a CD stuck in there but maybe I'm blind or it's just hard to see. I'll try screwing around with it some more as it doesn't appear I can really make it any worse ;-) Will it say "Slots Full" because of the error even if they are not full? Ugh...
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:44 PM   #8
GreyStang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,062
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

There's no telling what kinda messages a player with a jammed CD in it will say lol

__________________


2002 GT convertible
1999 Yamaha 1100 Virago
GreyStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 09:47 PM   #9
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Assuming I can't fix it, where can I buy a used (working) or refurbished unit? Are there any aftermarkethead units that are plug and play with the mach 460 system? Seems like there would be a market for one [8D]
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 02:19 AM   #10
MustangMike2001
4th Gear Member
 
MustangMike2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Mustang V6
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,161
http://www.facebook.com/yourmomzboyfriend
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

When I last dealt with mine it said it was full and there were no cd/s in it. Try pulling the fuse on it and see if that does anything.
__________________
MustangMike2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:55 AM   #11
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Ok, are you refering to the 25A fuse in the fuse box or is there another fuse?
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 09:49 AM   #12
GreyStang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,062
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

If in doubt which fuse,justpop the battery cable off & that's bound to do the trick
__________________


2002 GT convertible
1999 Yamaha 1100 Virago
GreyStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:29 PM   #13
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

I pulled the neg. battery cable and let it sit like that for 10 or 15 minutes. It didn't fix the problem. I'm curious as to why I didn't lose my preset stations with the battery unplugged.
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 02:40 AM   #14
MustangMike2001
4th Gear Member
 
MustangMike2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Vehicle: 2001 Mustang V6
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,161
http://www.facebook.com/yourmomzboyfriend
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Radio fuses are#27 (25A) and #32 (15A).
__________________
MustangMike2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:49 PM   #15
kmobrien76
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to kmobrien76
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

My local stereo shop is sending my cd player out to be refurbished...estimate $150-$250...I like the idea of keeping theinterior stock...
__________________
Kevin O
Boston, Mass.
'96 GT Vert 5 spd, original Flowmaster 40's...
'05 Yamaha Midnite Warrior, 1670cc's, 102 cubic inch...
kmobrien76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:56 PM   #16
GreyStang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,062
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Dude you shoulda pulled the thing out yourself & opened it up before sending it in. Maybe there was just some piece of crap in there clogging up the mechanism

__________________


2002 GT convertible
1999 Yamaha 1100 Virago
GreyStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 12:45 AM   #17
kmobrien76
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 75
Send a message via AIM to kmobrien76
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Nah no time...
__________________
Kevin O
Boston, Mass.
'96 GT Vert 5 spd, original Flowmaster 40's...
'05 Yamaha Midnite Warrior, 1670cc's, 102 cubic inch...
kmobrien76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 10:14 AM   #18
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

I had the battery unhooked for a good 10 or 15 minutes and that didn't help. Just curious though, are the station presets stored on eprom or something because they are still there when I hook up the battery.

I make yank it out of the dash next and disassemble it to see if I can figure out what the problem is. There's a 1/2 an inch of ice on the roads right now with 5-8 inches of snow coming...what else do I have to do today?!?!?

Thanks for all the replies....
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:26 PM   #19
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Ok, I finally got around to yanking this lousy cd changer. I disassembled it as far as I was comfortable going and there is definately not a cd in there. I was hoping against hope that when I put it back in the car it would work but no such luck. I am ready to replace it but I really would like to stick with a factory unit. Does anyone know what years and/or models will work? Are some years more prone to failure than others? Thanks!
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:59 PM   #20
Augy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 22
Default RE: CD Error on Mach 460 cd-changer

Well, I decided to take it out again and REALLY take it apart this time. I messed with all sorts of stuff I shouldn't have and pulled a few things out that seemed a bit foreign. Lo and behold, when I put it back in it WORKED. I'm tempering my enthusiasm a bit because I don't know how long it will last but it's the first time I've heard the sound system really shine (radio sucks). Sounds pretty darn good for factory. So, to those reading this thread with similar issues...don't give up.
__________________
2001 GT Convertible, triple black.
Augy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:59 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
460, cd, changer, error, errors, fix, ford, jams, mach, machcd, sound, stereo, stuck, system, taking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CDs stuck in Mach 460 HU djdalfaro 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 15 04-21-2006 11:33 PM

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup