General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

What are the wear items I should tend to? 2001 GT Vert

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 05:31 PM
Gadgetech
2nd Gear Member

Default What are the wear items I should tend to? 2001 GT Vert

My car has 190k miles on it and from talking to my Mom (previous owner) it hasn't had the bearings replaced nor bushings possibly. The car tends to wander around and follow ruts in the road and the steering wheel has a little play in it. I checked the lug nuts and they seem okay and she recently had new shocks and struts replaced. I just got the car so this may be normal but I'd imagine with that many miles on the clock it needs some attention that her garage didn't take care of. She had it serviced at a Goodyear and I'm not sure how thorough that particular shop is, maybe they can give me a detail of work done. I'm new to dealing with a car that has this many miles and while I'm not afraid to try the work myself, I'm unsure where to start.
Old 01-19-2013, 10:28 PM
Gadgetech
2nd Gear Member

Wow, a lot of views but no opinions?
Old 01-20-2013, 09:28 AM
ZombieHuntr
1st Gear Member

190k?! Stay from from Goodyear. They are a tire shop. Not a mechanic shop. Find a real automotive repair shop. Sheesh...... anyway, at that milage definitely start lookin at replacing all the rubber bushings in the suspension. Energy suspension makes a master bushing kit for our cars for around 150-200 bucks or so. It will definitely tighten up that loose feeling. But it will also stiffen up your ride a good bit to. If you don't want a rougher ride, just start replacing the bad bushings one by one with OEM pieces.
Old 01-20-2013, 09:29 AM
ZombieHuntr
1st Gear Member

Oh, and asset of subframe connectors and a upper strut tower brace will also help a lot considering its a vert
Old 01-20-2013, 09:40 AM
SKAR