General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Vibration/pulsing under braking, new rotors & pads

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2016, 12:20 PM
Crawdaddius

Default Vibration/pulsing under braking, new rotors & pads

Hi folks, first time poster here. I'm having an issue that I'd like some opinions on.

I recently purchased a '12 V6 Premium that needed a brake job. Lots of vibration/pulsing when braking, along with the typical mushy feeling. I purchased a front and rear set of Raybestos rotors and Hawk HPS pads, and changed them out myself. It wasn't my first brake job, but I'm no expert. I then had the alignment and balancing done. Everything was great for about 3k miles, until I hit a chunk of blown tire on the interstate.

I noticed a very slight vibration in the steering wheel after that, and it becomes worse when applying the brakes. I took it back to the shop when I had the alignment done, and they checked it again, along with the balancing. They said that everything was still perfectly aligned and balanced, and could offer no other opinions.

So, what steps should I take next? There didn't seem to be any visible damage from the tire chunk strike, and the new pads/rotors have about 4k miles on them now. Perhaps the rotors are crap and this has nothing to do with the tire chunk strike? I've used Raybestos before with no problems. Maybe the tire itself was damaged/warped somehow? The car came with new tires, but they're the cheap Fuzion brand.

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.
Old 08-30-2016, 04:11 PM
Z28KLR
4th Gear Member

Likely one or both front rotors are warped again. Sucks to do the job a second time in such a short amount of miles but it's still the most likely possibility IMO. Depending on where you got them, warranty on the rotors and their approach to customer sevice they may be willing to work something out with you.