Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

"To intercool or not to intercool, that is the question...

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2007, 03:43 PM
RF2.1
2nd Gear Member

Default "To intercool or not to intercool, that is the question...

...whether tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of hotter air, or to takeincooler, condensed air into the engine."

But seriously, debating whether or not to go with an intercooler with a Whipple supercharger. My goals are between 400 and 425rwhp, and I'm a very conservative driver. From what I'veread on the forum here, it seems that I would be fine running a set-up with no intercooler (and I could always upgrade later ifI wanted to). Am I way off base here, or does my line of thinking seem logical enough?

David
Old 10-24-2007, 04:10 PM
Fullsayl
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: "To intercool or not to intercool, that is the question...

...Since brevity is the soul of wit,
And tediousness the limbs and outward flourishes,
I will be brief.

Frailty, thy name is Forced Induction!
But at low PSI you should be fine. The lower PSI should keep your intake temp down, removing the need for the intercooler.

That being said...

Give every man thy ear, but few thy voice;
Take each man's censure, but reserve thy judgment.

Old 10-24-2007, 04:12 PM
ANBAUTO
4th Gear Member

I would just have the intercooler for peace of mind
Old 10-24-2007, 04:19 PM
Dex
5th Gear Member

blah blah blah intercooler
Old 10-24-2007, 04:41 PM
hammeron
6th Gear Member

get the HO kit yadda yadda yadda and you'll
be good to go

if you're not sure about whether to intercool
or not, you have not determined your actual
future goals for the car, imo

it's much easier to intercool now vs. later

good luck with the project
Old 10-24-2007, 04:44 PM
moosestang
6th Gear Member