Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

NEW TO FORUMS- BROKEN SPARK PLUG QUESTION

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2008, 07:17 AM
05GTRACING

Default NEW TO FORUMS- BROKEN SPARK PLUG QUESTION

Hello everyone, I am new to the mustang forums. I been reading on several previous threads about the problem that I am having, I was tring to perform a basic tune-up when two of my plugs broke off right at the shaft below the threaded part ofthe spark plug. Now I have a good basic idea on how it should be removed, first I am going to try to remove the porcelain that is in the ground shield. I am going to be attempting this procedure by using a steel welding rod with jb weld smeared on to the end of the rod, and gently put down in the center of the porcelain. After letting it cure I will be pulling it out. If they both come out with this procedure I will be puschasing the tool needed to extract the gound shield. Now I've seen two of these tools on ebay. The fisrt one is the Ford Rotunda Tool Kit TKIT-2006SP-FLMwhich cost 249.99. The second is the Cal-Van's 3V spark plug sleeve extractor this one is the same tool kit but cheaper it is 79.99.

1. First question, have anyone of you all made a mistake while tryng to remove the broken part of the spark plug the resulted in having to remove the head? If so what mistake?

2. Do you all think I should purchase the Ford Rotunda toolfor 170 more than the cheaper version?

3. Does any one have any other ways that they have removed the porcelain part other than the method I plan to use?
Old 07-26-2008, 07:53 AM
Lt. Frank Bullitt
1st Gear Member

Default RE: NEW TO FORUMS- BROKEN SPARK PLUG QUESTION

Do you have a copy of the Ford TSB they put out concerning these sparkplugs?
Old 07-26-2008, 10:08 AM
hammeron
6th Gear Member

Old 07-26-2008, 11:52 AM
Goldenpony
5th Gear Member