Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

oil/oil filter opinions

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 12:55 AM
Lankers
1st Gear Member

Default oil/oil filter opinions

What do you guys recommend for the 05 GT's? I've always used Castrol GTX and Fram filters, but it seems like everything is going to synthetics now. I'm a noob to synthetics.
Old 05-24-2009, 01:07 AM
nicksfoursix
1st Gear Member

I've heard that synthetics possess lubrication superiority over conventional oils in both cold start-ups and high temperature engine operations. I'm sure that someone can chime in with more detailed info about oil pros & cons.
In my '05 GT, I use Motorcraft 5W20 Synthetic Blend and I filter it through a Ford Racing oil filter. Oil & filter get changed every 3,000 miles.
Old 05-24-2009, 10:32 AM
08GT4U
2nd Gear Member

i use royal purple 5w20 and k&n oil filter.
Old 05-24-2009, 05:04 PM
mustangtestuser
2nd Gear Member

I've been using Mobil 1 5w-20 with a Mobil 1 filter, since I can get both locally. I change the oil every 5,000 miles or one year, which ever comes first.
Old 05-24-2009, 08:15 PM
Cobrakev
3rd Gear Member

Fram filters, the worst filter made. JMO I use Mobil 1 oil and Motorcraft filter. You can get both at Wally World.
Old 05-24-2009, 08:24 PM
moosestang
6th Gear Member

I like the wix filters, same as Napa gold filters.
Old 05-25-2009, 12:33 AM
Lankers
1st Gear Member

thanks for the input guys. I think I'm going to give royal purple and a K&N filter a whirl if I can find some locally. How many quarts do the new gt's use?
Old 05-25-2009, 01:06 AM
TorchedGT
1st Gear Member