Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

P0340-P0344 code but alternator works

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2009, 07:26 AM
taskmaster
1st Gear Member

Default P0340-P0344 code but alternator works

Hello - I have read a lot about this code on different forums, but Im not sure if i need to change the alternator, I tested the Battery it was 12.4volt and when I turned on the engine pushed it a little to 3k the battery was 13.5volt so it looks like that is ok?

So could it really this time be the shaft cams or will the alternator soon not work anymore, also when I delete the error code it dont pops up at once first after 3-4 km.

another thing I noticed a sound a "little" like a GT500 compressor, when I push the engine a little, so a little higher sound as if the rims or something have got another sound.

Now Im no expert in engines.... I just like to drive fast.

hope someone here know a little about this.

Last edited by taskmaster; 11-28-2009 at 08:03 AM.
Old 11-28-2009, 10:04 AM
socalwrench
4th Gear Member

P0340 is a CMP malfunction and P0344 is an intermittent CMP signal. Could be a failed sensor, but check for broken or shorted wires first. A quick resistance or continuity check can confirm the connection, but, again, make sure it's not touching any other wires or metal (possible grounding points).

A new and fully charged battery is 13.2V. I was just testing a 6.8L alternator at 14.5V (at idle; higher amperage, similar voltage). I would say the alternator is weak, but not failed. Whining noise could be worn bearings.
Old 11-28-2009, 10:49 AM
taskmaster
1st Gear Member

I just tested again, with engine running, it was 14.3 volt. I had a look at the cables, but it looks like those are ok.
Old 11-28-2009, 05:44 PM
J2L06GT
2nd Gear Member

When these alternators start to go bad the voltage they put out