Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

Few ?'s on exhaust, and nitrous.

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2004, 02:21 AM
MustangNuB

Default Few ?'s on exhaust, and nitrous.

First off, I am new to mustangs, hence my name!
I am just curious what the difference is between an H-pipe and X-pipe. I know the shapes/designs are different, but is there a difference in power gains and sounds??

Also, I am curious what mid-pipe and cat back combo(s) would net me the most H.P and best low tone growl for a 99' GT 5-spd.

I know this isn't an exhaust ?, but what C.A.I is the best? Like biggest H.P Gains? etc.

Now for Nitrous, I in the process of buying a 99' GT 5-sp. I am going to do the exhaust first, (except the headers) and an air intake. I am just curious whats the biggest shot of N2O a stock 4.6L could handle?? And whats the biggest shot the engine could handle before needing spark timing adjustments?? I'm thinking either a regular wet kit, or a D.P kit?!?!

Thanks for any/all help, I know I'm new (only to mustangs and V8's), but have patience I am a very quick learner and a good mechanic!! Thanks again !!
Old 10-06-2004, 02:26 AM
mdvaldosta
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: Few ?'s on exhaust, and nitrous.

h-pipes are usually deeper and a better sound (in most people's opinion), but the x usually performs better.

Best "low tone growl" and performance would probably be a Mac Prochamber with Magnaflow exhaust

Densecharger and K&N are pretty much understood around here to be the best performing CAI's, hp gains claimed range from 3-9 hp

You can run up to a 100 shot with the stock timing and premium fuel, probably 125 is about the most you can "safely" go without worrying about rod / piston / or clutch failure.

Welcome to the boards and Im sure a few others will chime in with their opinions soon.
Old 10-06-2004, 02:33 AM
Redline03GT
3rd Gear Member