Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

X-pipes or H-pipes?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2009, 11:34 PM
Crazyboy1432

Default X-pipes or H-pipes?

Well, I've been trying to decide on what sort've exhaust I want to buy for my '96 GT. I've searched around, and found it posted many times that the only difference is sound. I also heard that the H-pipe doesn't make much noise after 3,000 RPMs. Now... I want something loud, but not repulsively loud. I don't want my car's bark to overrate its bite. So, I have a few questions...

Any significant differences between the two styles? Such as airflow or back pressure differences?

The X-pipes make more of a raspy growl, and the H-pipes make more of a bass-heavy drone... Right or Wrong?

Does the sound of the H-pipes actually die off at 3k+ RPMs? or what?

and finally...

Which one is generally louder?

(PS: Go easy on me please, I'm a newbie. )
Old 11-02-2009, 11:50 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

There is almost no difference between the 2 in terms of power.

How each will sound is very dependant on the type of mufflers you have. In general (not totally exclusive) x pipe sound better with a straight through muffler, and a h pipe with a chambered muffler. In general h pipes have a deeper and rougher tone compared to a x pipe.

H pipes tend to make more noise at lower rpm's. While x pipes tend to be a little smoother (again it depends on the mufflers) and have a higher toned scream up high.

In general, h pipes tend to be a little louder from what i've seen and experienced.

Last edited by mrtstang; 11-02-2009 at 11:53 PM.
Old 11-02-2009, 11:58 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

Take mine for example. I have really loud straight through mufflers. I've tried both x and h pipes, with an without cats. The o/r h was definantly the most obnoxious, loud, and raspy of the bunch. The o/r x was a tad smoother and quieter (not much though) and less raspy.