Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

2v stock w/vortech what can I expect?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 11:32 AM
alexplantman
2nd Gear Member

Default 2v stock w/vortech what can I expect?

I have been debating this for almost 6-8 months already...
Either s/c my '00 GT w/72K miles / all stock or sell it and buy an 04 Cobra since I am seeing them priced in the $19K-$22K range .

Of course, The funnest option is get the Cobra ....

What kind of rwhp would I expect with one of the less expensive Vortech set ups? Will intercooling increase hp significantly? Cost for the intercooler? The car has N20 on it now, maybe a 50-75 shot w/sc?

I don't want to end up spending $4K-$5K on the s/c with install (I am too lazy lately to do it myself :lol, and then add this, add that, and before you know it I could've bought the cobra :barf: for the money spent..

Usage of the car? Just a daily driver, occasional street race.. most common losses ? Evos and WRX's .....

discuss
Old 11-26-2009, 11:41 AM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

If your car is bone stock (no exhaust or bolt ons) you might see 330-340 rwhp with a non intercooled blower. Intercooled maybe 360 ish. Add a few exhaust and intake mods, and the number will go up.

I would not spray it on top of the blower.
Old 11-26-2009, 01:29 PM
AirBrontosaurus
2nd Gear Member

If you buy the Vortech kit new and the supporting mods used, you're looking at about $3,500 with a good tune.

However, that number will surely go up if you don't install it yourself. It sounds like you should go for the Cobra.
Old 11-26-2009, 07:26 PM
Frostbitten
4th Gear Member

if you can afford a cobra i would just go with that
Old 11-29-2009, 12:19 PM
MU71L4710N
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by alexplantman