Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

Total Noob Question: S/C + CAI = ??

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2010, 05:06 PM
Xibar
1st Gear Member

Default Total Noob Question: S/C + CAI = ??

Didn't find this in a search, probably because I'm the only one that doesn't know it

Are these mods additive? If I have a CAI that gives an xtra 20HP, and a SC that brings you up to 400, can I expect 420HP?
Old 02-01-2010, 08:04 PM
luckythirteen13
6th Gear Member

wow that is a newb question. simple answer, no. longer answer, your intake doesnt had 20hp. your lucky if it got you 10hp. also, you cant use your cai with the sc depending on which one it is. if your going with a roots/twin screw sc that mounts on top of the motor and the tb remains in the same location, then you can use the same cai. if you go with a procharger or a vortech you will need to use the intake that comes with the kit or buy an intake that is made for that sc

Last edited by luckythirteen13; 02-01-2010 at 08:07 PM.
Old 02-02-2010, 05:33 PM
Xibar
1st Gear Member

So $400 plus labor to get an extra 10 horses?? That hardly seems worth it. Plus how can the seller justify saying 20 to 25 extra hp...? Is that one of those "under perfect conditions" kind of statement? Otherwise that's kind of an outright lie.
Old 02-02-2010, 05:36 PM
Xibar
1st Gear Member

...and does that mean the 550HP Ford Racing SC isn't really 550 at the flywheel...??? I may be pretty new at this, but this all seems pretty disillusioning.
Old 02-02-2010, 07:59 PM
MU71L4710N
5th Gear Member

the 3v motors make some decent power gains with an intake and a tune. on the 2v motors you see maybe 5hp on a stock car. but im pretty sure the 3v with a tune will get an extra 20hp or so. but WHY did you spend labor costs? all you needed was some basic hand tools and a few minutes in your driveway.