Suspension Ask all of your general suspension questions here!

Just exactly how does suspension contribute to the speed of a vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 01:32 PM
SSSTANG10

Default Just exactly how does suspension contribute to the speed of a vehicle

I'm new to the performance game and I'd appreciate it if i can get as much insight as possible
Old 05-26-2011, 01:39 PM
Quazyrabbit

In more ways than I would care to discuss in a short post, needless to say if you have nothing but 100 horsepower V-4 engine but cannot distribute that power to the ground without spinning the tires then you have nothing more than a tire eating smoking machine which can be had by merely putting water on your tires, so why bother with anything else?
Ride quality tuning, suspention dynamics, traction, cornering, wind resistance, fuel consumtion, and on and on.....all can be effected either poorly or for various performance, driver desire, improvements of numberous sorts.
and welcome, oh mighty obvious newb..read all you can, ask all you want, but if you do please listen and learn from the time you ask of others, and maybe a nod or a thanks to those here and on other fporums, etc who take the time to discuss normally assumed knowledge of sorts. Now, get to doing your homework!
Old 05-26-2011, 05:37 PM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Quazyrabbit
In more ways than I would care to discuss in a short post
I'm willing to read a long post . . .

Norm
Old 05-26-2011, 08:33 PM
Jazzer The Cat
Retired Moderator

OP, your question is soo incredibly open-ended, nobody could possibly be asked to answer it in full. I suggest you pick up some books and read up as our own Quazy wabbit has mentioned

If you have a more specific question in reguards to a suspension mod that has been recommended to you, or you feel may be helpful for your own needs... ask away*

Jazzer

*will be awainting a long post from Norm
Old 05-27-2011, 07:43 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member