V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

help me fix my 95 3.8 please

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2012, 03:41 PM
Jason Held

Default help me fix my 95 3.8 please

ok, so obviously i have a 3.8L 95 stang. the past few months i have been having an issue with loss of power, some backfiring, and the car kind of judders while accelerating. the first time i ran an obd it said MAF was bad, so i replaced that with a new one. i talked to an uncle of mine who works on cars and he said if its backfiring, it could only be caused by the MAF, TPS, or Cam sensor. so, i went ahead and replaced the TPS, cam sensor, and the spark plugs, and wires. no change. i have also replaced the fuel filter, pcv valve, oil change. all the basic tune up stuff. the obd is reading now, system lean (bank 2). i am nearing the end of stuff i can do, i think, as i am not a mechanic. so, if anyone has any ideas of anything else that it could be, please let me know. i am probably going to have to take it to a shop soon, if it is something i cannot do. thanks for your help, in advance!
Old 11-03-2012, 03:50 PM
Jason Held

just wanted to add, it also idles kind of rough around 500-700 rpm
Old 11-03-2012, 07:45 PM
warthogdriver
2nd Gear Member

Mine did something similar and i did all the things you did.
did you do a compression check on the cyclinders?
You can rent the tool at most parts stores. Mine turned out to be a failing headgasket....that eventually had a total failure. I hope thats not the case for you but your sysptoms sound similar to what happened to me....one plus is that your actually throwing codes. Hopefully someone else will chime in here with some better ideas for ya.
Old 11-04-2012, 07:31 AM
BabyGT
5th Gear Member

It's your coil I bet. Replace the ignition coil. Make sure you get one made by motorcraft or a well know performance brand. The oem replacements don't seem to last long.
Old 11-04-2012, 07:56 AM
Jason Held