V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

2003 v6 TPS?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 09:49 PM
Gomedic

Default 2003 v6 TPS?

Hello All! Wonderful info here! I am the "new" owner of my son's mustang. V6 auto with 218,000 miles on body and 55k on replacement motor.
Some issues I was dealing with:

Rough idle and loss of power. I cleaned the IAC and MAFS as well as the TB. Car runs better, but still has poor mileage and odd shift points around 35-40 mph. Sometimes at 75 mph if feels like it stutters a little. Car starts fine and idles around 700rpms then goes up to 1100 and back down.
When I get on it, it runs well but feels like it shifts rather hard. One of the threads pointed to possible Throttle Position Sensor.

Mileage is around 15-17 mpg on highway at 73-75 mph. Is that normal?

I'm a very novice mechanic but I have more money than my son. LOL. So it is now my project. I appreciate ALL help!
Old 08-19-2013, 08:08 AM
BabyGT
5th Gear Member

To ease your mind a bit the 35-40 mph shift point is kinda weird. At 35 steady speed it wants to stay in a gear just below what I would think it should be in. It won't shift up until 40, then you can let back off to around 36-37 and it will stay in the higher gear and run less rpms. I really hate this particular shift point choice cause it makes a world of difference in the loudness of my exhaust from the two gears at 35, not to mention I'm sure I'm using up a bit more fuel.

Fuel mileage doesn't seem to far off depending on driving habits.

Does the rpm pulse up and down or is just that once at start up and is fine after?
Old 08-19-2013, 08:10 AM
RyansQuick6
Reverse Gear Member

I assume there's no codes?