Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help! - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs
Reload this Page >

Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-05-2006, 06:38 PM
  #1  
5 speed GT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

My Shaker 500 (about 1 month old) as it was shuffling discs decided to hang up. It will not allow any action to be taken on the disc side and immediately goes to the radio. Is there a way to reset it? Has anyone had this issue? Do you know what can be done to fix it?
5 speed GT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 07:09 PM
  #2  
Explaced
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 69
Default RE: Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

The only way to reset it that I know of would be to disconnect your negative battery cable (double check before you disconnect any cable that it is indeed the negative one you disconnect - I'm 99% sure it is, but don't hold me to it). If you disconnect that and leave it off for about 10 seconds or so and put it back on, you should reset the radio and everything else. You'll lose all your preset radio stations though.
Explaced is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 07:13 PM
  #3  
RetiredGeneral
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 172
Default RE: Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

welcome to the wonderful world of the shaker!
Mine jammed up with 6 cds in it (4 of them BRAND NEW) and the dealer had to replace the unit. Then send it back to ford to have the cds removed and mailed back...
RetiredGeneral is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 12:17 AM
  #4  
5 speed GT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default RE: Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

I have an appt at the dealership tomorrow. God I hope they can get my CDs out; two of them are one offs that I cant replace so that would be very bad.
5 speed GT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 12:27 AM
  #5  
lynwood78
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 634
Default RE: Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!

strange I just posted the same subject above...stupid shaker 500![:@]
lynwood78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 02:50 PM
  #6  
Dar's Stang
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default

My cd got stuck this morning. Hours later it's still stuck. It's really frustrating.
Dar's Stang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 07:19 PM
  #7  
2007CalSpec
5th Gear Member
 
2007CalSpec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nor Cali
Posts: 2,032
Default

My CD player has been stuck for over 2 years now. It always tries to initialize or shuffle and then stops whenever I turn on the stereo. Was annoying at first but I've gotten used to it. I don't listen to CD's anymore anyway. Someday I'll pull the radio out and disconnect the CD mechanism so it won't make that shuffling noise.
2007CalSpec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 07:47 PM
  #8  
07BLACKGT
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,935
Default

Holy old thread bump, batman.


6 YEARS OLD


But yeah, my Shaker headunit is an absolute piece of ****.

Oh, have I ran your battery down? LET ME SHUFFLE THESE DISKS ALL NIGHT LONG.

Oh, you want to play a CD? TOO BAD, LISTEN TO THE RADIO WHILE I SHUFFLE THESE DISKS.

Oh, it's hot outside? TOO HOT FOR ME TO WORK.
07BLACKGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:54 AM
  #9  
MiniD
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 31
Default

Do people still use CDs?
MiniD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:10 PM
  #10  
Lifter583
4th Gear Member
 
Lifter583's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,440
Default

Simply pull out the POS and replace it with a good aftermarket head...I assure you...you will be glad you did.
Lifter583 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Shaker 500- CD giving Disk Error message help!


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.