Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom Bumper/Chroming?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 02:37 PM
Boozshey
5th Gear Member

Default Custom Bumper/Chroming?

Anyone have a resource on getting custom chroming done. What I would like to do is, mimic the front end of a 69 Boss, with the chrome trimmings that it offered. But have no idea where to begin to look.

http://www.mustangmonthly.com/featur...front_view.jpg
Old 01-10-2007, 02:50 PM
Kriger
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Custom Bumper/Chroming?

I'm actually a plating lab tech, we do not do chrome where I work. We do a high bright zinc "indoor fake chrome look" along with some finishing processes we are developingalong with a ton ofpowdercoating. I'd focus on a local shop in your area. A smaller job shop would be perfect for your needs. Go triple chrome plated. Thats a copper plated coating thats buffed to a shineand then nickel plated which gives it some serious life long protection followed by a chrome plating. Anything less for a outdoor part will be a waste of your time and money.
Old 01-10-2007, 03:01 PM
Boozshey
5th Gear Member

What kind of shop would do it? I would be in the Tampa area getting it done?
Old 01-10-2007, 03:06 PM
fairlane292
5th Gear Member

Chroming will be as easy as opening your wallet. What are you planningon as far asfabricating the actual bumper and brakets, etc. That some serious design and custom fab work; ...unless I'm missing something in your plan.