Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rotating assembly,intake,cylinder heads

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 10:52 PM
pimp_n_performance

Default Rotating assembly,intake,cylinder heads

Hey guys, my first post. I'm new to Ford. Having been a GM enthusiast all my life, I've never been around Fords much. The latest generation of Stangs have finally commmanded my undivided attention. I am in the process of shopping for a preowned GT, something in the 05 to 07 years. Having owned a few very fast cars in my time( 600 + HP, fuel injected, supercharged, G and F body GM's )I expectno less from my new ride. I'm not looking to spend "Gigabucks" but I am preparedto spend upwards of 25,000 on performance alone. I'm looking to put about 15k into the motor (rotating assembly, heads, intake, exhaust, forced induction etc.) The goal is a fire breathing 600+ horses in a "daily driver" I don't want a "dragstrip only" type of ride. I want a 600 + HP car that sports all the creature comforts of a "daily driver" I hear that the stock engines are pretty solid in these cars, would pretty easily accommodateupto aboutmy intendedhorsepower goal. A couple of questions. How many horses do the stock bottom ends reliably live up to? What is the boost mechanism of choice for these cars ( Pro-charger, Vortec, Roush, Roots style or centrifugal? ) Turbo too much of a headache for these cars? ( space restrictions seem like an issue ) Valve sizes, cylinder head recommendations, cam profiles, intake systems, rotating assemblies, fuel systems, clutch, headers, exhaust chassis mods/frame stiffening.. etc etc..Any hints, tips, suggestions, or info to help in my endeavors would be greatly appreciated. (Please goeasy on me for taking so long to wake up and smell the coffee. Hey, we all deserve a second chance!) Look forward to hearing from you guys, thanks in advance.. Eggz.
Old 04-06-2007, 11:26 PM
ryterngki
2nd Gear Member