Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

To answer all Pulley Installation ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 12:25 AM
NastNaso
2nd Gear Member

Default To answer all Pulley Installation ?'s

So after seeing a lot of question concerning U/D Pulleys I hope this helps to clear any confusion. For the record I am just an at home garage mechanic with basic tools so anyone can do this it took me about an hour.

Step 1: Remove Intake (to do so remove hose clamp from throttle body and 10mm bolt on intake filter box, also remove the sensor and vaccumn line)

Step 2: Remove Electric cooling fan and accessories from radiator. To do so you need to unbolt 2 5/16" bolts from the fan and 1 on the power steering fluid and 2 from the oil thingie (sorry brain fart)

Step3: Loosen four bolt from water pump pulley (12mm socket and Harmonic balancer bolt 18mm socket) You may need some penetrating fluid on the balancer also use an impact gun.

Step 4: Use 1/2 drive rathcet to loosen belt tensioner and remove belt

Step 5: Remove water pump pulley and install balancer puller. (this is the only part that is kind of a pain but take your time and it comes off easy.)

Step 6: Once you have the old pulleys off you need to cut the lower right hand bolt from the alternator or it will destroy the belt. I used a air cut off tool buthacksaw would work as well

Step 7: Now you can install the new waterpump pulley and balancer. The pulley is an easy four bolt hook up and the balancer uses the stock bolt just press it on and use the impact gun to pull it in. I used the gun to get the balancer seated then took the bolt out toi relieve the stress and then tightened it again.

Step 8: Once everything is on place the belt back on and do the reverse of the previous removal of parts.