Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does Mr. Clean Auto Dry remove wax???

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 06:13 PM
rogan01
3rd Gear Member

Default Does Mr. Clean Auto Dry remove wax???

I waxed my car using a very good carnuba wax about 2 weeks ago. It was beading great - better than it ever had.

I used the Mr. Clean Auto Dry system to wash it today and it did not bead at all!

It says on the package - "Does not remove wax" but I am doubting this.

Any comments, explanations or experience?

Thanks for any help!
Old 07-06-2007, 06:18 PM
Fourth Horseman
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Does Mr. Clean Auto Dry remove wax???

I have no first hand experience, but I've heard people on other car forums say that it does remove wax. Bummer, because it seems like a nifty product otherwise.
Old 07-06-2007, 06:20 PM
rogan01
3rd Gear Member

If it does remove wax I will be really POed. I spent a lot of time and used expensive wax. If it does remove wax it is going into the trash tonight.
Old 07-06-2007, 07:18 PM
red stangguy
1st Gear Member

Ionly use Ivory dish soap it is the softest cleaning agent out there in my opinion and it will nottake off wax.
Old 07-06-2007, 07:20 PM
petepete
5th Gear Member

I think it will. Had Tree sap on my car once that i could not get off. Cleaned it with the auto wash and it slid right off. Im guessing sap is stickier than wax
Old 07-06-2007, 07:25 PM
stangdude81
2nd Gear Member

nah, I use an autodry all the time and I do notice what you are talking about with the water not beading now. The soap leaves a film over your wax, I'm not real sure why, I guess it has something to do with how it dries. Give the car a good hand washing with regular carwash soap and it will bead up like normal again. I was kinda freaked out the first time like you. 6 months later if I hand wash it, it will still bead.
Old 07-06-2007, 07:29 PM
scrming
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: stangdude81