Running wires through firewall - MustangForums.com



2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2008, 08:35 PM   #1
jaguarking11
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 246
Default Running wires through firewall

Hello fellas. I bought a genk31 mirror a while back. Now the issues is I need to run two thin wires for the temp probe to my mirror. I have been looking at existing gromets but the big gray one ontop but I cant see it reaching to under the dashboard. The alternative is a smaller gromet but thats under some ac piping I am not willing to move.

Any sugestins that dont involve drilling would be highly apreciated.

And if any of you have run wires then please tell me what route you took?

Thanks!

-Bruno
jaguarking11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:40 PM   #2
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

User the one in the passenger footwell.


Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:43 PM   #3
lrgnation
4th Gear Member
 
lrgnation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 1,136
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

yeah my ignorant a$$ wasn't patient enough to pay attention and notice that big rubber boot with the grommet and you have to do is cut it with some dykes. And i drilled a good size hole for the 1/0 wire right next to it... Oh well..
lrgnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:48 PM   #4
noober
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 728
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Aziraphale

User the one in the passenger footwell.


This is gonna be so ridiculously helpful when I have to install and wire my aftermarket foglights. Is there a similar one on the driver's side? I don't wanna run a wire all the way through...
noober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 08:49 PM   #5
hammeron
6th Gear Member
 
hammeron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nicely done
Posts: 11,777
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

well the bright side is, you have lots of room
to run wires now

hammeron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:04 PM   #6
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

Quote:
ORIGINAL: noober

This is gonna be so ridiculously helpful when I have to install and wire my aftermarket foglights. Is there a similar one on the driver's side? I don't wanna run a wire all the way through...
*EDIT* Yes, see below.

Just so you know, the gromit doesn't go directly into the engine bay, you have to remove the back half of the inner fender to get to the other side. Plenty of places to route it up to the engine though.

I have more pictures and descriptions in my HowTo: Amp Install thread here:

https://mustangforums.com/m_3333162/...tm.htm#3333162
Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:26 PM   #7
mlcrycc
5th Gear Member
 
mlcrycc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 4,205
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

Quote:
This is gonna be so ridiculously helpful when I have to install and wire my aftermarket foglights. Is there a similar one on the driver's side? I don't wanna run a wire all the way through...
There is a similar grommet on the drivers side. Here are some pics. The grommet is behind the brake / clutch pedal area. As with the grommet on the passenger side, you need to peel back the wheel well plastic to expose the back side of the grommet. The green wire is going through the grommet and into the engine bay....

Mike



[IMG]local://upfiles/13557/3115A7ED1D3A4FDCB4D4D8BF0D4AD706.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/13557/28D1BFE08E554BEF8012070790B4B652.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/13557/19EBEBED4FE84071BC9BDF775C9459B0.jpg[/IMG]
mlcrycc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:30 PM   #8
Pantera72
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,412
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

Quote:
ORIGINAL: noober

This is gonna be so ridiculously helpful when I have to install and wire my aftermarket foglights. Is there a similar one on the driver's side? I don't wanna run a wire all the way through...
Noober, if you plan on using the street scene wiring kit it has instructions for running the foglight wiring through the driver side grommet. Thats what I used to hook up my fogs.
Pantera72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:35 PM   #9
noober
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 728
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Pantera72

Quote:
ORIGINAL: noober

This is gonna be so ridiculously helpful when I have to install and wire my aftermarket foglights. Is there a similar one on the driver's side? I don't wanna run a wire all the way through...
Noober, if you plan on using the street scene wiring kit it has instructions for running the foglight wiring through the driver side grommet. Thats what I used to hook up my fogs.
I actually went with an aftermarket Billet Halo Foglight setup from motorblvd (some ebay seller...) and there really aren't instructions on how to lead the switch through because it's a crap switch. I'm going to be swapping the switches for 2 on off rockers that I'ma drill into my stock switch. One for the halos, one for the fogs. I just needa know how to lead the two lines through the firewall, and I think that covers it. If you have a comp version of the instructions you got, however, toss 'em here. ^_^
noober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 03:26 AM   #10
jaguarking11
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 246
Default RE: Running wires through firewall

thanks a bunch guys. The writeup was especialy good.

Do you guys have a recomandation on what wire to tap into for the mirrors power? It needs a 12v when ignition is on. I was thinking on taping onto the radio one, however that may casue noise issues. Any other ideas?
jaguarking11 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spark Plug Change 2007StangV6 2005-2014 Mustangs 30 01-28-2016 06:09 PM
Borla ATAK not louder than S-type (Stinger) 2007CalSpec 2005-2014 Mustangs 6 09-10-2015 07:51 PM
AODE Woes Pyrate Dave 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 8 09-10-2015 07:30 PM
Help! Metra 70-5521 AMP Harness Install cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 2 09-03-2015 08:43 PM
Best Place To Run Power Wire/Firewall '08 cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 3 09-02-2015 08:51 PM


Tags
04, 2000, 2006, 95, drilling, firewall, foglight, gt, mustang, run, running, s197, tools, wire, wires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.