Ramps.....help me out - Page 2 - MustangForums.com



2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2008, 08:41 PM   #11  
mynameismike65
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
mynameismike65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,110
Default

Thanks guys........I will probably go out and get some rhino ramps and a couple blocks of wood this week
mynameismike65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 08:50 PM   #12  
Rubrignitz
5th Gear Member
 
Rubrignitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 4,897
Default

I have the autozone "rhino" ramps and they've been really tough. I'll NEVER go back to metal ramps again. sooo much easier to move around.

Hell, I couldn't do anything w/o a good set of ramps. From oil changes to suspension to exhaust work you NEED some good ramps.

And a couple of quality jackstands along with a good 30'' lift floor jack.
Rubrignitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 08:53 PM   #13  
Rubrignitz
5th Gear Member
 
Rubrignitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 4,897
Default

I'm pining for a garage lift, bench grinder and a mig welder. Then I would never have to take my car anywhere.... for anything... sigh.
Rubrignitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 08:55 PM   #14  
.boB
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 939
Default

www.kwiklift.com

I have a set of these, and they're great. All of my vehicles fit on them without trouble. Makes any undercar job or suspension work incredibly easy. No more crawling on the ground to do a brake job or swap tires.
.boB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 09:01 PM   #15  
JasperGT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 996
Default

I got a set of rhino ramps from Autozone, and every time I try to drive up the ramps they slide out from underneath my car. They have a small piece of rubber on the bottom near the front that is supposed to keep them from sliding, but it fails miserably. My advice is to get something that is heavy and won't move from under you. The only way that I can get my car up on them is to move a parking space cement bumper and place it behind the ramps. Needless to say, its a pain.
JasperGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 09:08 PM   #16  
Rubrignitz
5th Gear Member
 
Rubrignitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 4,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .boB View Post
www.kwiklift.com

I have a set of these, and they're great. All of my vehicles fit on them without trouble. Makes any undercar job or suspension work incredibly easy. No more crawling on the ground to do a brake job or swap tires.
I've seen the garage lifts for about $2k so that doesn't seem like a great deal when the hydraulic garage lifts will allow you to stand.
Rubrignitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 09:10 PM   #17  
Rubrignitz
5th Gear Member
 
Rubrignitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 4,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperGT View Post
I got a set of rhino ramps from Autozone, and every time I try to drive up the ramps they slide out from underneath my car. They have a small piece of rubber on the bottom near the front that is supposed to keep them from sliding, but it fails miserably. My advice is to get something that is heavy and won't move from under you. The only way that I can get my car up on them is to move a parking space cement bumper and place it behind the ramps. Needless to say, its a pain.
I drive my car up to where it needs to be then jam the rhino ramps up under the front tires. No movement whatsoever when driving up.
Rubrignitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 09:19 PM   #18  
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubrignitz View Post
I drive my car up to where it needs to be then jam the rhino ramps up under the front tires. No movement whatsoever when driving up.
Same here.
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.