Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need clarity on mods options

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2009, 11:33 AM
jranaudo

Default Need clarity on mods options

Newbie here and before you ask yes I did search and found some things but still have other questions. I hope to be getting a used mustang soon (2005+) and am doing research into some of the first mods to keep my satisfied until it arrives.

Exhaust:
what are the many exhaust configurations? What's legal?

For example I don't even know what an x-pipe or h-pipe is and which one is better. I know Axle-back is cheapest. I know there is a mid-muffler setup as well. Also the many threads don't seem to mention whether the cats are removed or not. Also whether they are high flows cat or even legal.

Suspension
I know about the different spring types and struts types but I dont understand the control arms. Is changing the control arms required? What's the benefit?

Any info would be great so I can better understand this.
Old 03-06-2009, 12:35 PM
thewarmachine
5th Gear Member

Get a '99-'04 model and save yourself a lot of headaches.
Old 03-06-2009, 12:50 PM
jranaudo

Originally Posted by thewarmachine
No. I truly hate the way they look. The interior is particularly bad IMHO.
Old 03-06-2009, 12:50 PM
OhioState87
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by jranaudo
Exhaust:
what are the many exhaust configurations? What's legal?

For example I don't even know what an x-pipe or h-pipe is and which one is better. I know Axle-back is cheapest. I know there is a mid-muffler setup as well. Also the many threads don't seem to mention whether the cats are removed or not. Also whether they are high flows cat or even legal.
Any configuration is basically split into 3 parts: Exhaust manifold/headers, mid-pipe (where the cats are located), and the mufflers.