Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New engine? new car? ???

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2010, 08:36 PM
Lethaldosage423
4th Gear Member

Default New engine? new car? ???

ive been strongly thinking about trading in my sixxer for an 09 GT with low miles. when i say low miles, i mean like under 15 K

prices look to be about 20-25,000

now what about a new engine? If i put a new engine in i would also put a manual transmission in. and could built the engine to my spec.

so the price of an engine, Transmission, Rear axle, Driveshaft, Wiring harness... and probably a new ECU, would it be worth it? i am a mechanic so the labor would be all done by myself.

im just ball parking ideas, 25K is a lot to spend at 19 years old
Old 04-19-2010, 09:01 PM
NOLA26
2nd Gear Member

Are you talking about attempting to "convert" your V6 to a GT? If so the short answer is NO! There is way more to it that what you listed. Your're better off just getting the GT. There is a thread on this somewhere on MF, I remember reading it.
Old 04-19-2010, 09:06 PM
marcuskeeler
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by NOLA26
Are you talking about attempting to "convert" your V6 to a GT? If so the short answer is NO! There is way more to it that what you listed. Your're better off just getting the GT. There is a thread on this somewhere on MF, I remember reading it.
There are plenty of threads on this and the backbone of them all is the word "No".
Old 04-19-2010, 09:11 PM
swat 79
2nd Gear Member

For 25000 you can get a new 2010 model....I wouldn't pay anything over 20k for a lightly used 05-09. The deals are there if you look, and I would definitely get the gt rather then doing a swap.
Old 04-19-2010, 11:56 PM
Red Beast
4th Gear Member