Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone trailer their S197? Advice please...

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2011, 02:44 PM
Diabolical!
5th Gear Member

Default Anyone trailer their S197? Advice please...

I just bought an 18' wooden deck dovetail car hauler. I'm trying to decide how to go about trailering my car. I'm new to this and need to know some basic things like where to anchor to the trailer, where to place the straps on the car, what kind of straps are best, what's the best way to load and unload the car, etc. Thanks in advance folks.
Old 03-10-2011, 08:29 PM
pascal
S197 Section Modder-ator

Get the 2" wide yellow ratchet type straps from Home Depot or LOWES
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

Hook the front straps to the xmember (not the sway bar!) and the back ones to the rear axle housing.
The car weight should also be right on the trailer axle but it doesn't mean that the car has to be centered on it...
Typically with the Mustang, the front of the door would be the spot to use as reference to put above the trailer axle.
Better weight repartition that way.

As far as loading/unloading the car, you'll need to have ramps long enough to avoid dragging the front bottom of the car and the muffler to avoid a stiff rake.
The height of the trailer will determine how long those ramps need to be.
2x8" wooden boards are often used...
Old 03-10-2011, 08:47 PM
Diabolical!
5th Gear Member

I can't find pics of S197s strapped down on a trailer to save my life. I don't have a front swaybar anyway, so no need to worry about that. If I attach to the crossmember in the front and the axle in the back, wouldn't that cause me to load the suspension in the front while the rear suspension is not loaded? I appreciate the advice, but I've heard that doing it that way leads to load instability (I'm not sure, I'm just passing on what I've been told).