Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lowering questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2012, 01:09 PM
majik755
2nd Gear Member

Default Lowering questions

I agree with everyone that our cars should have been lower straight from the factory, so that is now on my To Do List. Not being a real mechanic, I'd like some recommendations to make sure I do it right. I have a 2010 Premium GT on 19inch rims stock tires. I'd prefer to look at Steeda springs because I like the idea of an American made American built product (I work for a Union). Other than Steeda Sport Springs, what else should I, and do I need to change as part of the process? Struts/Shocks? Will it require re-alignment? I'd like to keep the ride about the same, it's a DD and the 19 inch rims don't soften the ride. Thanks in advance for responses to this "newbie" question.
Old 03-29-2012, 01:25 PM
MadStang40
4th Gear Member

Hmmm... well I think this would be an excellent question for Sam Strano (http://www.stranoparts.com/). He's in the GT S197 suspension forum frequently and knows his stuff.

Here's the basics in vibrations: If you screw with the springs and not the dampers, your handling characteristics can suffer and you'll be pre-maturely wearing out your stock dampers due to the new ride height constantly keeping those puppies under pressure.

Now as far as I know, Steeda's only drop the ride height an inch (someone please correct me if I'm wrong here). Is that low enough for you? Now depending on how low you go, your alignment may be off and may have to adjust the camber to ensure even tread wear. When Pascal and I did mine, we were going to manually adjust the camber instead of using camber plates, but after eyeballing it, it appeared not to need it. Though, I think this can vary from car to car so it has to be dealt with on an individual basis.
Old 03-29-2012, 01:41 PM
chain1
4th Gear Member