Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone know the correct "how to" clean a 2011+ ETC TB?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2014, 06:56 AM
GT50GO
2nd Gear Member

Default Anyone know the correct "how to" clean a 2011+ ETC TB?

I've been running a Brenspeed tune since September 2013 with zero issues but since it's gotten 90+ here in Texas when running the AC my idle sometimes drops pretty low (and so far stalled once) when I'm decelerate in stop and go situations. I talked to Brenspeed and they said first thing to do is clean the TB. I don't see any harm in following there suggestion to see if it corrects the problem.
I have no issue physically removing the TB if necessary. I'm old school and have never fooled with a electronic controlled throttle. Is it as simple as just unplugging all the electrical connections, etc... then re-installing? Or is there calibrations that would need done when I put it back on.

Thanks
Old 06-21-2014, 08:03 AM
moosestang
6th Gear Member

Just unplug the connectors, some might have a pull tab, then push in to disconnect. Remove throttle body and spray it out with TB cleaner or carb cleaner. I use brake kleen cause i'm a rebel. Use a blue towel or what have you to wipe the black stuff out. use your finger to open the butterfly valve and clean all around where it seals. There is no recalibration procedure that i know of.

Don't over tighten it when reinstalling.

It only takes a tiny bit of build up to cause idle problems. My wifes Chrysler had an unstable idle before i cleaned her TB.
Old 06-21-2014, 09:15 AM
GT50GO
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by moosestang