Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Should I install the headers myself

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2008, 10:43 PM
NeoV6

Default Should I install the headers myself

Hello all, I got a set of headers for my car and Im thinking about installing them myself. I'm still a novice but from the instructionsit seems pretty straight foward apart from one thing: "The directions say to torque the header to 30-35 ft/lb." How do I do that? Is this a hard install or should I go for it?
Old 05-19-2008, 12:19 AM
68XR7
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Should I install the headers myself

I was planning on doing my own headers. It looked pretty straight forward. No big deal. But since I didn't have much spare time, I took the car to the dealership. When I picked it up, they told me about all of the problems that they had with the install. They said that the sensor on the left side didn't go in right, some of the bolt holes weren't quite right, etc. After hearing about what a pain in the butt it was, I'm glad that I let them do it. I think that it was money well spent.
Old 05-19-2008, 12:49 AM
Sancho805
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: 68XR7

I was planning on doing my own headers. It looked pretty straight forward. No big deal. But since I didn't have much spare time, I took the car to the dealership. When I picked it up, they told me about all of the problems that they had with the install. They said that the sensor on the left side didn't go in right, some of the bolt holes weren't quite right, etc. After hearing about what a pain in the butt it was, I'm glad that I let them do it. I think that it was money well spent.
were they MAC headers?
Old 05-19-2008, 05:25 AM
bigdaddy0987
1st Gear Member