4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Need help

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2006, 12:07 PM
ibeeskeef
2nd Gear Member

Default Need help

I got in the stang yesterday and the A/C quit on me. It was working fine on Friday and then Sat afternoon it stopped blowing cold air. The coolant level is fine and the car was still blowing air, it just would not cool the air. The heat was working fine as well. I checked under the car and found no loose hoses and everything appeared to be in order with no leaking fluids. Everything else was working fine and the engine itself was not having any overheating problems. I fear it may be the compressor since it was so sudden that it stopped but I am not sure. I know how to work on my car to a degree, but I am no master mechanic. What do I need to look for?
Old 08-06-2006, 12:30 PM
randy78045
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Need help

Check you AC hoses... if theyre leakin you should see fresh oil on em...
Old 08-06-2006, 12:40 PM
ibeeskeef
2nd Gear Member

no leakes at all on anything as far as I can see.
Old 08-06-2006, 12:48 PM
02StanGT
4th Gear Member

When you turn the A/C on do you see the compressor clutch engage/disengage? If it was your compressor you would know from the loud noises it would make. Also check the compressor suction pressure, it should be around 25-40 psig.
Old 08-06-2006, 12:54 PM
ibeeskeef
2nd Gear Member

that is the thing. When you turn the AC on it doesn't make any unusual sounds at all. The air still blows out of the vents as usual and there is no unusual noise that I can hear. The air just never cools down. It is as if I just left it on vent and not AC and let the air blow.

Also, what do I need to use to check the suction pressure with?
Old 08-06-2006, 01:07 PM
blstoff
2nd Gear Member